The Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2017

The Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2017 has been announced, and there are some amazing books and authors listed.

We were promised 12 books but have been given 16, which just goes to show how good the past 12 months have been for women writers.

Making the list is Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent, which has to be one of the most popular books of last year; it seems to have been everywhere. Great that it gets recognition here too.

Margaret Atwood, Eimear McBride, Annie Proulx, and Linda Grant are also on the longlist, as is Naomi Alderman, for her novel The Power.

Here’s the list in full:

  • Stay With Me, Ayobami Adebayo
  • The Power, Naomi Alderman
  • Hag-Seed, Margaret Atwood
  • Little Deaths, Emma Flint
  • The Mare, Mary Gaitskill
  • The Dark Circle, Linda Grant
  • The Lesser Bohemians, Eimear McBride
  • Midwinter, Fiona Melrose
  • The Sport of Kings, C.E. Morgan
  • The Woman Next Door, Yewande Omotoso
  • The Lonely Hearts Hotel, Heather O’Neill
  • The Essex Serpent, Sarah Perry
  • Barkskins, Annie Proulx
  • First Love, Gwendoline Riley
  • Do Not Say We Have Nothing, Madeleine Thien
  • The Gustav Sonata, Rose Tremain

As the Bailey’s Prize for Fiction celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women from throughout the world, it’s great that today’s announcement coincides with International Women’s Day 2017.


Celebrating writing by women – the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2015 shortlist revealed

Recently I’ve met a few male published writers who say they don’t read books written by women.

‘It’s not deliberate,’ one said. ‘I just read what interests me. I look at what’s influenced the writers I like. They’re usually men.’

‘Books by women don’t appeal to me,’ another said. ‘They’re not really that … good.’

Another asked me, ‘You don’t write … women’s fiction do you?’

If some men still have this attitude then it’s more important than ever that we celebrate writing by women. The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction does just that. I’m delighted that the shortlist for this year’s prize has now been revealed.

I will be reading and reviewing the six shortlisted books and celebrating fiction written by women. I’m looking forward to getting started!



Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2015 longlist is revealed



The longlist for this year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has been announced and includes rising stars of literature and well-established writers.

Five debut novelists and eight previously shortlisted authors are included on the longlist of 20 books.

The prize, which is now in its 20th year, celebrates the best in contemporary women’s fiction. All books have been written in English and published in the UK within the last 12 months. Previous winners have included Lionel Shriver, Marilynne Robinson and Barbara Kingsolver.

Shami Chakrabarti, Chair of judges, said: ‘The Prize’s 20th year is a particularly strong one for women’s fiction.  All judges fought hard for their favourites and the result is a 2015 list of 20 to be proud of – with its mix of genres and styles, first-timers and well-known names from around the world.

‘There is a very strong showing of UK writers and we are all incredibly excited about the final stages of the search for the winner.’

The judges must now whittle these 20 books down to a shortlist of six, before choosing an overall winner to be announced on 3rd June 2015.

Here at the Cosy Corner book blog we will be reading and reviewing some of the books on the list, and are looking forward to getting started on the reading.

The 2015 longlist

Rachel Cusk: Outline

Lissa Evans: Crooked Heart

Patricia Ferguson: Aren’t We Sisters?

Xiaolu Guo: I Am China

Samantha Harvey: Dear Thief

Emma Healey: Elizabeth is Missing

Emily St. John Mandel: Station Eleven

Grace McCleen: The Offering

Sandra Newman: The Country of Ice Cream Star

Heather O’Neil: The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

Laline Paull: The Bees

Marie Phillips: The Table of Less Valued Knights

Rachel Seiffert: The Walk Home

Kamila Shamsie: A God in Every Stone

Ali Smith: How to be Both

Sara Taylor: The Shore

Anne Tyler: A Spool of Blue Thread

Sarah Waters: The Paying Guests

Jemma Wayne: After Before

PP Wong: The Life of a Banana